Ighalo, Osimhen battle for award

TOP Nigerian players Odion Ighalo, Victor Osimhen, Chisom Chikatara are in prime positions to cart home the striker of the year award at the third edition of the Nige­rian Pitch Award slated for Kaduna on March 25th.
John Obi Mikel, Ogenyin Onazi ,Oghenekaro Etebo and Paul Anobi were listed for the Midfielder Award.
Speaking yesterday in Lagos, Managing Partner of SIAO, Pastor Ituah Ighodalo said the award was anchored on integrity and creates a standard by which talents and commitment can be measured in football.
“We have set a standard in the accounting service industry. We are therefore delighted to bring our profes­sionalism to bear on the process of selecting those that the society believes have done the nation proud.”
He affirmed that the wishes of the voters had been captured to the best of their ability.
This year’s award had been increased from 16 to 21 categories ,according to Shina Philips of the Matchmakers consult. Players can now win the Rashidi Yekini Award for the highest goal scorer in the league, Most Valuable Player in both male and female categories and the Samuel Okwaraji Award for Commitment to Nigerian Football.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button