ECOWAS shocked over Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger’s move to quit regional bloc


From Aidoghie Paulinus, Abuja

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), has expressed shock over the decision taken by three of its member states to quit the regional body.

The ECOWAS Commission, in a statement issued in Abuja, said its attention has been drawn to a statement broadcast on the national televisions of Mali and Niger, announcing the decision of Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger to withdraw from ECOWAS.

The ECOWAS Commission disclosed that it was yet to receive any direct formal notification from the three member states about their intention to withdraw from the community .

“The ECOWAS Commission, as directed by the Authority of Heads of State and Government, has been working assiduously with these countries for the restoration of constitutional order. Burkina Faso, Niger, and Mali remain important members of the Community and the Authority remains committed to finding a negotiated solution to the political impasse.

“The ECOWAS Commission remains seized with the development and shall make further pronouncements as the situation evolves,” the statement read.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button